Mon, 25 Sep 2023

OTTAWA, July 5 (Xinhua) -- Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said on Tuesday that Canada is ratifying Finland and Sweden's accession protocols to join NATO.

"Canada became the first country to ratify the accession protocols of Finland and Sweden to join NATO. This brings the two countries a step closer to full membership," Trudeau said in a statement.

Trudeau called on all NATO members to move swiftly to complete their ratification processes.

Canada took steps to be able to ratify the protocols as quickly as possible. The House of Commons has voted unanimously in favour of Finland and Sweden joining the alliance, Trudeau said.

NATO's 30 allies signed accession protocols for Sweden and Finland on Tuesday, starting the process to admit the two Nordic countries into the alliance that perhaps poses a grave challenge to global security.

Finland and Sweden were formally invited to join NATO at the alliance's summit held last week in Madrid, Spain, only seven weeks after both countries handed their applications in response to the Russia-Ukraine conflict.

The next step is for the parliaments of all 30 NATO members to ratify Sweden and Finland's accession to NATO, according to their own national procedures.

More Sweden News

Access More

Sign up for Sweden News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!